What is the European Economic Area (EEA)?

The European Economic Area (EEA, EWR in German) includes all European Union countries, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.1 Switzerland is not in the EEA.

Citizens of the EEA can live and work in other EEA countries. They do not need a residence permit.

Sources and footnotes
  1. gov.uk, netherlandsworldwide.nl